新疆塔什库尔干5.5级地震 目前已致8人死亡

A‍t least eight people were killed and dozens injured after a 5.5-magnitude earthquake struck Taxkorgan County in China's northwest Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region on Thursday morning, according to the region's earthquake administration.

The quake took place at 5:58 a.m. BJT (2158 GMT), reported the China Earthquake Networks Center (CENC). As of 8 a.m. BJT (0000 GMT), 51 aftershocks had been recorded, according to the CENC.

Nearly 800 people have been affected, with many suffering damage to their homes. An emergency response system has been activated and rescue workers were immediately dispatched.

Strong jolts were felt, according to local media reports. Search and rescue work is underway. The injured people have been sent to the hospital.

Taxkorgan, some 1,250 kilometers from Urumqi, capital of the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, borders Pakistan, Afghanistan and Tajikistan.‍

参与评论